Fruit Cake - Buttercream Icing

Decorating By gdcox76 Updated 3 Oct 2005 , 5:10am by MissBaritone

gdcox76 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gdcox76 Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 1:36am
post #1 of 8

I have a lady that want's me to ice a fruit cake thats all, just ice it with a shell border or something really simple. It is 2 tiers. My understanding from her is she wants buttercream icing. I have never worked with a fruit cake before. What am I getting myself into. I did a search on fruit cake and all I found was info on marzipan and royal icing.

7 replies
auzzi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auzzi Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 2:18am
post #2 of 8

Traditional fruitcake, based on the English-style, is only ever covered with marzipan/royal icing or sugarpaste/rolled icing.

The taste, texture and sweetness of buttercream would not be compatible with fruitcake. It was created to cover light or delicate baked goods not rich boozy fruitcakes.

The taste and texture marzipan/royal icing or sugarpaste/rolled icing balances the intense taste and sweetness of fruitcake. That is one of the principal reasons that wedding fruitcake is cut into "fingers" [1" x 1"] not slices as with muds, poundcake, butter-cake etc. It is certainly never offered for dessert.

MMF, as a substitute for rolled fondant, works fine with fruitcake.

MissBaritone Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MissBaritone Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 6:25am
post #3 of 8

I agree buttercream does not go with fruit cake at all. I would cover the cake with marzipan and fondant. Then either mix a little water into the leftover fondant to get it a piping consistency or make a little royal icing and use this to pipe your borders ect.

PurplePetunia Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PurplePetunia Posted 28 Sep 2005 , 8:21pm
post #4 of 8

Oh, great, just the topic I wanted to ask a question about!!!