Smash Cake And Pricing Question (I Know, I Know...)

Decorating By pooker Updated 27 Sep 2005 , 9:44pm by pooker

pooker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pooker Posted 27 Sep 2005 , 6:25pm
post #1 of 7

I have someone requesting a smash cake be on top of the regular cake. The smash cake will be a lion on top of a 1/2 sheet cake - in the corner.

How do I put this on there so that it is removable to give to the birthday boy? Do I just do the dowel rod thing, or can I put it on a ckae board or something?

Also, a price question. I know you are all so tired of them, but this is my really first paid cake. It is the 1/2 sheet and smash cake. I'm a beginner at the decorating, and the person who ordered knows this. So I do not want to cahrge a price like some of you do simply because I am new at this. What do you think would be a good "beginner" fee?

Also, what do you usually charge for a smash cake?

Thank you so much!

6 replies
ken Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ken Posted 27 Sep 2005 , 6:37pm
post #2 of 7

pooker,

I've only been decorating for a few months now and after looking at some of your cakes, I wouldn't think you were a "beginner". You put just as much time and effort into your cakes as someone who has been doing this for years. Think about your supplies, your time, and your work (designs). I'm really not sure what you should charge but try not to cheat yourself just because you are a "beginner". Hope this helps! - Ken

thecakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecakemaker Posted 27 Sep 2005 , 6:38pm
post #3 of 7