Dry Cakes

Baking By Kolivas10 Updated 10 May 2015 , 1:39am by tastefullysweet

Kolivas10 Posted 4 May 2015 , 2:04pm
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone, this is the first time a post something and I'm desperate for some advise. My cakes are turning out dry, at least that is the feedback I'm getting. I've tried a lot of things and they seem good to me when I take them out of the oven to cool down, I even save the left over and they are fine but some people have complained of them being dry. I make my cakes from scratch and I know the texture and flavor is different from box cakes. I try to explain this to people but it seems that they prefer the box cakes over the homemade one. What should I do??? I'm seriously thinking on giving up:(... Here is the recipe I use.:

3 cups of flower, 3 eggs, 3tsps baking powder,1/2 cup of oil. 6tbsp butter.1/2 cup milk. And 1 cup sugar

I am new, I've been baking for other people for about 10 months, I still have a lot to learn. I love baking and decorating but sometimes this type of comments really bring me down:(

7 replies
Gingerlocks Posted 4 May 2015 , 2:30pm
post #2 of 8

The problem is that people are used to overly sweet and artificially moist boxed cake mixes. This is an issue I had when I first started out as well.

There are two things I would recommend:

1. Buy Beyond Buttercream by Jennifer Bratko https://www.etsy.com/ca/listing/178952866/beyond-buttercreams-base-cake-recipes-by

Her recipes are designed to have properties like a cake mix; i.e. moist and sweeter than typical scratch cakes.

2. Always `wash` your cakes in a simple syrup before using ganache or butter-cream.  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/simple-syrup

You can also add flavorings to your syrup so they will no only add moistness they can add a real depth of flavor. 

SquirrellyCakes Posted 6 May 2015 , 12:53pm
post #3 of 8

You got excellent advice from Gingerlocks.  May I add to it?