Butter Replacement

Baking By Mez1225 Updated 4 May 2015 , 8:29pm by SquirrellyCakes

Mez1225 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mez1225 Posted 2 May 2015 , 5:28pm
post #1 of 18

I am a fairly new baker and I need some suggestions. I started when my son was diagnosed with a peanut allergy a couple of years ago and have only made cakes for us and some family members. 

I am making cupcakes for my nephew's 2nd birthday party in July and need a replacement for butter in the cupcakes as well as the buttercream. It needs to be peanut/tree nut, coconut, soy, dairy, banana & avacado free. (The peanut/tree but & coconut are allergies, the rest are intolerances) Any ideas?

17 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 2 May 2015 , 6:21pm
post #2 of 18

you'd have to track down what the modified food starch is in "just mayo" but you can get a great chocolate cake with it -- and maybe other kinds just never tried any other --

http://www.hamptoncreek.com/just-mayo/recipes/chocolate

and maybe you can rig up some icing with it?

-K8memphis Posted 2 May 2015 , 6:23pm
post #3 of 18

p.s. in some locations they sell cookie dough too

Mez1225 Posted 2 May 2015 , 6:33pm
post #4 of 18

I never thought of mayo. I've never heard of 'just mayo'. (I'm in Canada), but I will have a look at my mayo and maybe give that a try. 

-K8memphis Posted 2 May 2015 , 6:58pm
post #5 of 18

just mayo is a special product -- it is eggless and tastes and seems just like regular mayo -- comes out of san fransisco -- 

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 2 May 2015 , 8:28pm
post #6 of 18

Geez, why not jusr serve rice cakes with a side of water!

craftybanana2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
craftybanana2 Posted 2 May 2015 , 8:41pm
post #7 of 18