What To Do If Customer Does Not Like Their Cake???

Decorating By zinger60 Updated 10 May 2015 , 7:57pm by costumeczar

zinger60 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zinger60 Posted 2 May 2015 , 2:48pm
post #1 of 26

I have been making cakes for about 5 years now and have sold hundreds of them over the years.  We have had only 1 complaint in all the years and that was from a lady who said the technique I used for her tutu cake was not what she was looking for.  So yesterday, I had a cake pickup, which the lady paid and never said anything about not liking it.  I get a phone call an hour later from her saying that she was not happy with the colors on the cake.  Then I received a message from her husband, who actually ordered the cake, and said his wife "hated" the cake, was in tears and said the colors were not "bright" like they wanted and the colors were like a baby shower cake.  I used the colors that he told me to use but now they say the colors were not bright enough and they want to bring me the cake back and get their money back,  I told them there is no way I will take back a cake after it leaves my possession.  I have no way of knowing if the cake was adulterated by them while they had it.  I told him if she would have said she didn't like it when she picked it up, I would have just kept it and donated it to a local shelter and she could have kept her money.  So I finally offered them a partial refund and they said no, they want all their money back, which was $60, or they want another cake.  What should I do?  What do you guys do when you spend time and money making a cake and the customer says its not how they wanted it?

25 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 2 May 2015 , 3:39pm
post #2 of 26