Dying Cream Cheese Frosting Black?

Decorating By jamietrt Updated 3 May 2015 , 1:17am by denetteb

jamietrt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jamietrt Posted 1 May 2015 , 8:00pm
post #1 of 5

I'm making a strawberry cake in the shape of a panda bear and my client wants cream cheese frosting. First off, I'm new to decorating cakes for money so I don't know how much to charge. Second, I've never made a strawberry cake and I'm not sure if it's good for carving into a shape. And thirdly, I've never made cream cheese frosting let alone dye it black. Is it even possible? 

Please help me! My cake is due May 8th! 

4 replies
810whitechoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
810whitechoc Posted 2 May 2015 , 3:36am
post #2 of 5

Quote by @jamietrt on 7 hours ago

I'm making a strawberry cake in the shape of a panda bear and my client wants cream cheese frosting. First off, I'm new to decorating cakes for money so I don't know how much to charge. Second, I've never made a strawberry cake and I'm not sure if it's good for carving into a shape. And thirdly, I've never made cream cheese frosting let alone dye it black. Is it even possible? 

Please help me! My cake is due May 8th! 

Ummmmm my first thought was "duck" or grow a thick skin,  because there are going to be some interesting answers to this one.

julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 2 May 2015 , 9:49am
post #3 of 5

Uh...that's a tough one. Rather not expressing a few concerns I have after reading your post... Many threads about pricing on cc, maybe read those? I never attempted dying cream cheese frosting black, guess it would look grey, so I would rather go with fondant.

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 2 May 2015 , 2:45pm
post #4 of 5