Need Help Figuring Out Cake Design

Decorating By Webake2gether Updated 30 Apr 2015 , 12:15pm by Webake2gether

Webake2gether Posted 30 Apr 2015 , 1:41am
post #1 of 5

I was asked to do a graduation cake round 3 tiered marbled cake with purple and teal as the colors with gold pearls. The top tier will be a cake covered in fondant to look like a graduation cap. The second tier with buttercream and the girls name bottom tier piped with roses or rosettes (1 m tip) . The picture she sent as a reference isn't very good. The overall design and layout is way off and I'm not sure how to approach some of the elements and colors. 

I'm by no means a pro but my approach to this was to sketch out a few drawings of cakes and having them pick the one they like. I want it to be clean and elegant but I'm worried it will look tacky if they want it just like the reference picture. 

How do you handle custom cakes with no so great reference pictures? Giving them what they want but still being proud to put your name on it :)

4 replies
Kathryn-87 Posted 30 Apr 2015 , 8:26am
post #2 of 5

I'd sketch your ideas around the picture and tell them any concerns. See what agreement you can come to. I'm doing a christening cake at the end of the month and the lady wants a certain cake with cascading flowers but block letters but I think the blocks will ruin the flow of the cake. I'm seeing her next week to discuss and have done rough drawings. ( I'm no expert either) 

Pastrybaglady Posted 30 Apr 2015 , 8:40am
post #3 of 5

Sometimes people ask you to make ugly cakes.  They are paying you (in your case, they will one day pay you) to make exactly what THEY want.  You can make suggestions but if they want ugly you give them ugly.  Not every cake is going to be post worthy, but as long as you get paid you just smile and cash the check.  It especially sucks for you because you're trying to build your portfolio, but beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Frank68 Posted 30 Apr 2015 , 11:33am