Advice Needed- Getting Started!

Business By Lissybear Updated 27 Apr 2015 , 10:49pm by amartin1900

Lissybear Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lissybear Posted 27 Apr 2015 , 9:17pm
post #1 of 9

Hey ya'll!

So here's the dish- I'm looking into starting a bakery business, long time dream.  Texas has the food cottage law, which is annoying, but could make it possible to start out of my home.  I'm also looking into renting time at a commercial kitchen to get started until I get more experience and business and can look into getting a storefront for myself.

Here's the issue-

I have never worked in a bakery  before.  

I have done retail/admin. my whole working life, so I know more about the books and things like that.

On my own, I have mastered macarons, home made cakes, icings, and decorating. 

I have been getting a lot of heat from family that I should instead seek employment at a bakery first for a year and see how I like it before diving in.

I'm having a hard time with that idea.  There are few actual bakeries around my area (most everything is a donut shop closed by noon...), they are rarely hiring, and from what I've heard they do not pay well.  

So basically I'd be leaving my current job, which pays enough to keep me afloat, to gain the experience of cleaning a bakery kitchen, selling some one else's baked goods, and putting premixed batters in the oven, and, possibly, frosting some cupcakes, for less money.  The actual baking is done by the owners in the wee hours of the morning, then the ...helpers?  Employees?  Come in later and will toss things in the oven as needed, box things up, clean and sell.

I get what they're saying, what if I hate it, and I invested money into it, etc.