Retured Cake Stand (Dirty)

Lounge By SweetDesire88 Updated 7 May 2015 , 12:29pm by Mr_Gray

SweetDesire88 Posted 23 Apr 2015 , 8:18pm
post #1 of 11

Hey bakers and cakers. I'm a newbie to the cake business and I'm really enjoing it. But as all you guys know  there is a down side  to it. Bad customers. How many of you agree with me?  

I recently did a wedding cake and well had to chase down my cake stand, to my surprise a week later after the wedding the stand was dirty. Normally when  my cake stands are returned are clean.  I was a little upset. I never thought I would  happen to me. 

Any of you gone through something like this?

10 replies
Jedi Knight Posted 23 Apr 2015 , 9:10pm
post #2 of 11

What kind of deposit do you take för equipment rentals/loans?

What are the specifics of your equipment contract?

Alisa555 Posted 23 Apr 2015 , 9:36pm
post #3 of 11

I always take a deposit for the value of the stand (just in case I need to replace it due to damage or no return) - people are pretty quick to get it returned if there is anywhere from $50 to $150 involved:)

I ask for it to be cleaned, but I understand that the clean up after the wedding can be a bit hectic and it is usually being done by someone that has no idea what the details of the contract were.  Often it is the venue staff that has been hired for clean up.  

Really ...as long as it is not damaged or missing parts I am just happy to get it back.

costumeczar Posted 23 Apr 2015 , 10:21pm
post #4 of 11

If that's the worst customer you've had to deal with count yourself lucky. In a few years of doing this, this one will look really mild in comparison.

SweetDesire88 Posted 24 Apr 2015 , 12:00am
post #5 of 11

I rented the stand for 50 and specified that it be returned with 5 days. I didn't think I should asked to be clean. But I will ask in the future.

I'm with Alisa555 I'm glad that I got it back. 

Costumeczar lol, so true. 

Cevamal Posted 26 Apr 2015 , 11:59am
post #6 of 11