Covering A Large Cake In Fondant

Sugar Work By Laurenbem1 Updated 7 Jul 2015 , 5:36pm by Laurenbem1

Laurenbem1 Posted 17 Apr 2015 , 11:13pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all,

I've recently started doing more larger cakes And challenging myself...However...

I always seem to have difficulty when covering my larger cakes 12/13/14 inch cakes in fondant

I always use a rolling pin to help me lift and position onto cake but always find because of the weight of so much fondant and me managing it by myself, it begins to tear in places or give cracks from the icing powder (used to roll it out)! 

Therefore leaving me to disguise the imperfections with sugar work/toppers

I've been told using a silicone mat is handy as i wouldnt need to use icing powder to stop it from sticking to the surface but would love to know some of the ways/procedures that work well for YOU guys personally.. any tips or tricks I could test out would be brilliant?  

I'm still an amateur in the cake world but would love to improve with every cake!

7 replies
cakegrandma Posted 18 Apr 2015 , 12:44am
post #2 of 8