How To Reduce Prices For Bulk Orders?

Business By Brookebakes Updated 18 Apr 2015 , 12:35am by cakegrandma

Brookebakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brookebakes Posted 17 Apr 2015 , 8:54am
post #1 of 11

So I am quoting for an order of 200 cupcakes. My usual pricing is $3.50 each for these cupcakes. I know I need to reduce the price as it's a bulk order... But by how much?! I was thinking $2.80 each? Thanks all :-)

10 replies
Mr_Gray Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mr_Gray Posted 17 Apr 2015 , 9:19am
post #2 of 11

I personally would offer about 10-15% off since the slightly reduced oven use and economy of size/batch for me is pretty much offset by the increased pressure of keeping so many cuppies nice and fresh for a single day delivery (I'm a home baker)

Specifically for you though, consider;

How much will it cost you to make 200 cupcakes

What will your time commitment likely be? And be conservative in that estimate! 

Will your reduced income of $560 less costs leave you with a sufficient hourly wage in your own personal opinion? the extra $140 you are considering letting your customer keep would give me at least $10 an hour more 'wages'... to me that's too much of a personal loss.

Let us know what you decide? 

Snowflakebunny23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Snowflakebunny23 Posted 17 Apr 2015 , 9:58am
post #3 of 11