What Would You Charge For This Cake?

Decorating By KsCakes09 Updated 16 Apr 2015 , 4:05pm by -K8memphis

KsCakes09 Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 3:18pm
post #1 of 15

Need help with pricing out this cake.  What is the going rate for fondant covered cakes?  Also not sure how to price out each Figure since I would probably take more time than a more experienced decorator so I can't really charge by the hour.  Can anyone suggest or know what the average cost of figures similar to those in the photo would be.  Thanks!!

**ONLY making the bottom 2 tiers of the cake in the photo   

14 replies
KsCakes09 Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 3:23pm
post #2 of 15

Forgot to include:   its for 50 servings

KsCakes09 Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 10:32pm
post #3 of 15

anyone have suggestions. PLEASE!

Bogginboy Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 10:36pm
post #4 of 15

i wouldn't know im only an amateur but there are pricing guides on pinterest if that helps any

kakeladi Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 10:41pm
post #5 of 15

Pricing depends on sooooo many different factors the *MOST IMPORTANT* one being one CANNOT sell Disney themed cakes! 

The other factors to consider when pricing cakes would be your location; are you capable of such an intense design; do you bake scratch or mix are just a few of them; what are your investment costs (ALL supplies, ingredients used such as fondant, coloring, board(s), boxes; actual baking supplies be it mix or flour, sugar etc to create the cake alone) and how long it takes to create your masterpieces.

Magic Mouthfuls Posted 14 Apr 2015 , 11:20pm
post #6 of 15

That's one very detailed cake - I would guess it might take 30 hours to make.  So cost of ingredients + materials + utilities + hourly rate.  In Australia, I would charge $600-$800 for that for 50 serves or $12-$15 per serve.