New To A Area And Was To Egger For A Customer

Business By toshascc Updated 16 Apr 2015 , 5:40am by toshascc

toshascc Posted 12 Apr 2015 , 6:41am
post #1 of 14

Hello,

im a home baker and my husband is in the coast guard which makes having a cake business really hard. I have been trying to get my name out for four months now, i even did a baby shower cake as a gift for a coastie wife. So i had cards made and i finally got a call! she asked for a full sheet cake which I've never done on such i large scale, she mentioned she could go to a local grocery store for $55 and said she needs a quote right than so i told her i can match the price. i than got a steady flow of details she wants included right down to a color palate and font.  the whole order was full sheet cake 18x24 chocolate with vanilla butter cream and chocolate mousse. she sent a photo of the baby shower invite and asked me sketch out exactly what was on the card which is very detailed with animals and trees 

now i have people calling she told about and are demanding the same prices... i lost $25 if not more on this cake. what do i do?

13 replies
johnson6ofus Posted 12 Apr 2015 , 7:32am
post #2 of 14

Quote by @toshascc on 46 minutes ago

demanding the same prices... 

??? Ha! NO one demands anything of me. Answer, "I am sorry- that will just not be possible." Many here have learned giving a quick price can bite you in the butt. And you lose $$$ and time. 

Yes.... all the cheap cake buyers will swarm you if they smell a deal. Heck, you ought to see me on Black Friday! Doesn't mean I want to be the one losing $$$.

CHOICES?

-Develop a fair price, that makes you enough profit to be worth your time and expenses.

- Just say no

-Go work elsewhere for less pressure and responsibility

Gingerlocks Posted 12 Apr 2015 , 3:57pm
post #3 of 14