What Type Of Cake Is Ideal For A Fondant Covering?

Baking By nirvana.h.y Updated 8 Apr 2015 , 8:37pm by -K8memphis

nirvana.h.y Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nirvana.h.y Posted 8 Apr 2015 , 1:55pm
post #1 of 9

Hi! 

I'm relatively new to baking, but I have been doing standard cakes and decorations for a while now. I've been asked by my cousin to bake his wedding cake since its very short notice and I just wanted to know if there are any tips I could get from all of you experienced bakers.. I tried the Italian sponge cake and though it was very tasty, I don't think it holds well with fondant.. I need something that is wedding appropriate and can also hold fondant well (if all works well, it should be a 5-tier cake!) 

any advice is welcome and Im looking to learn from anyone willing to help.. thank you!!!!! 

Much love! 

Nirvana 

8 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 8 Apr 2015 , 2:50pm
post #2 of 9

for weddings i use a box mix with flour & sugar etc. added because it makes a very resilient cake, holds well, slices well, servings can sit out and not get a crust on it right away -- wedding user friendly 

i have a couple recipes for scratch cake too -- do you want all of them or which kind --

let me say this -- if you're intending on refrigerating the cake then consider finding a formula that does not take butter in the cake (icing yes use butter or ganache or whatever) but if you keep it all at room temp a butter batter cake will work fine -- otherwise the butter made cake stays firmer after it comes back to room temp and that's why many scratch cakes are deemed 'dry' -- so you want a cake made with oil if you intend to freeze or fridge it at all --

which recipes do you want -- you can pm me

-K8memphis Posted 8 Apr 2015 , 2:50pm
post #3 of 9