Nervous Newbie And Leaning/bulging Cakes!

Baking By SummerBakes88 Updated 8 Apr 2015 , 1:45am by SummerBakes88

SummerBakes88 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SummerBakes88 Posted 7 Apr 2015 , 4:32pm
post #1 of 14

First time poster, long time lover of this forum!

I am a NEWBIE! I have only done a couple of cakes for family and friends but I keep having issues with leaning and bulging cakes! Most of the time I can semi-conceal it with the buttercream but I am getting so frustrated! I feel like I am a stickler for rules and proper technique but it keeps happening. 

I always:

- freeze/refrigerate my cakes to let them 'settle'

-level my cakes with a leveler 

-put even amounts of filling in between layers

-refrigerate/freeze before frosting so layers are secure

The cakes aren't tall enough to be leaning so much...the only problem I can think of is my cake is too soft or I am torting the cakes too thin? Also it seems to lean quite a lot which would be due to uneven layers only I make sure they are even before I stack them!

I read an awful lot and watch a lot of videos and all the cakes I see are rather thick layers compared to mine and the cakes seem very firm.

ANY help would be helpful..I posted my pictures in the gallery:

http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/3335999/peanut-butter-cup-cake

http://www.cakecentral.com/gallery/i/3335998/tuxedo-truffle-cake

I really want to get better at layer cakes so I can move on to more advanced styles! 

Thank you all in advance -- I love CC!!!

13 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 7 Apr 2015 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 14

welcome to cc 

answer for you -- it's ok to use a couple skewers or tall toothpicks in your cake to keep the layers from sliding

question for you -- why do you think refrigerating/freezing helps the cake to settle?

SummerBakes88 Posted 7 Apr 2015 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks K8memphis!