Help!! What Happened To My Fondant?

Decorating By Maddie Cakes Updated 12 Apr 2015 , 6:17pm by GoWildCakes

Maddie Cakes Posted 4 Apr 2015 , 1:33pm
post #1 of 17

I made this cake for my son's birthday. I had my dowel in the middle, bubble t straws on the layers but for some reason my fondant on my bottom layer was bubbling out from the frosting. Almost like it wasn't sticking to it anymore. Ugh! This has happened a few other times too. It looks terrible and I would never serve that to a customer. Any tips are very appreciated since I am still new at this. Thanks

Amber

16 replies
Maddie Cakes Posted 4 Apr 2015 , 1:35pm
post #2 of 17

Quote by @Maddie Cakes on 1 second ago

I made this cake for my son's birthday. I had my dowel in the middle, bubble t straws on the layers but for some reason my fondant on my bottom layer was bubbling out from the frosting. Almost like it wasn't sticking to it anymore. Ugh! This has happened a few other times too. It looks terrible and I would never serve that to a customer. Any tips are very appreciated since I am still new at this. Thanks

Amber

Maddie Cakes Posted 4 Apr 2015 , 1:37pm
post #3 of 17

Quote by @Maddie Cakes on 1 second ago

Amber

How do I post a pic of it? I'm new to this. 

Pastrybaglady Posted 4 Apr 2015 , 2:36pm
post #4 of 17

Save your picture to the galleries and then cut and paste into the comments.

Maddie Cakes Posted 5 Apr 2015 , 5:47am
post #5 of 17
Maddie Cakes Posted 5 Apr 2015 , 5:48am
post #6 of 17
julia1812 Posted 5 Apr 2015 , 6:53am
post #7 of 17

Sometimes it can happen when you don't put something heavy on to of the filled cake to press icing and potential air bubbles out. You put it in the fridge, take it out, fondant on and - boom. Wabbly fondant! Can't explain the exact process, but that's the outcome.