Gold Writing And Dusting Products???

Decorating By Laurenbem1 Updated 3 Apr 2015 , 8:51pm by MadamePattiKakes

Laurenbem1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laurenbem1 Posted 26 Mar 2015 , 10:30pm
post #1 of 5

Hi all,

I'm making a 50th anniversary cake and need to do the writing on the cake in gold.

Can anyone recommend a good product to use that will give me a nice effect when writing?

Also for dusting/painting and decorating fondant flowers, fondant balls and hearts?

Any recommendations would be a great help

Thanks x

4 replies
jessicake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jessicake Posted 27 Mar 2015 , 3:04am
post #2 of 5

I am NO expert on this, but I have used this mixture:

2 tsp gold luster dust + 2 tsp powdered sugar + enough alcohol to make a paste, then gradually add 1 tsp piping gel.  

To this mixture I have added gold disco dust and more luster dust.  It is truly a glitter gel, but you can pipe with it.  It is not the greatest because it is so sticky, and it stays sticky!  Wilton had a "Sparkle Gel" that I imagine is about the same thing.  I have not tried it yet, but I will.  

Otherwise, I think most decorators will pipe with royal icing and then paint over it with a mixture of luster dust and alcohol.  

Hope that helps!

Laurenbem1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Laurenbem1 Posted 27 Mar 2015 , 4:59pm
post #3 of 5

Thank you... will try both of these methods over the weekend

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 27 Mar 2015 , 5:32pm
post #4 of 5

Don't use disco dust on anything that's going to be eaten it's ground-up plastic and isn't considered to be an edible food product.

MadamePattiKakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MadamePattiKakes Posted 3 Apr 2015 , 8:51pm
post #5 of 5