Topsy Turvy Cake Questions

Baking By CynthiaBer Updated 25 Mar 2015 , 11:18pm by CynthiaBer

CynthiaBer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CynthiaBer Posted 24 Mar 2015 , 7:35pm
post #1 of 12

Hello, I am new to the cake baking world and now I had the great idea of making a topsy turvy cake.

I do not want it to fall apart as soon as I stack the cake so I will need good support. I was planning to attach a wooden stick in the middle of a thick cake board with a screw. Than put all 3 off the tiers on a cake board on the base, with dowels in each tier, except for the last tier. Can anybody tell me if this is a good support for a cake like this?

I also would like to know what sort of cake is best to use for a stacked cake. I would like to make all the tiers a different flavour, I was thinking about a chocolate cake, a vanilla cake and a fruit flavoured cake. It would be great Iif anybody could help me with these questions. 

11 replies
CynthiaBer Posted 24 Mar 2015 , 8:32pm
post #2 of 12

Oh and how do you cut a cake like that?

Alisa555 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Alisa555 Posted 24 Mar 2015 , 10:16pm
post #3 of 12

Wickedgoodies.net has a good topsy turvy tutorial.  It does not show specifically how the cake is supported, but I have made topsy turvy cakes like this using dowels (or whatever type of cake supports you like to use) the same as I would for any tiered cake.  Then run a dowel through the middle of the cake, all the way through each tier into the cake board/drum.

CynthiaBer Posted 24 Mar 2015 , 10:22pm
post #4 of 12

Ah thank you. So how I was planning to do it wil be quit good than I hope haha.

I have a really cool book about carved cakes, they use madeira cake for these, would those do a good job? 

reginaherrin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
reginaherrin Posted 25 Mar 2015 , 2:50am
post #5 of 12