Help With An Edible Image

Decorating By sykescakes Updated 4 Apr 2015 , 10:42pm by icingimages

sykescakes Posted 18 Mar 2015 , 12:54pm
post #1 of 6

I am making a Harry Potter cake for a birthday and I had the Hogwarts crest printed as an edible image. I have never worked with an edible image before and I was just wondering when the best time to apply the image is. I'll be making the cake the day before but was thinking I would wait to apply to image until a few hours before the party to avoid bleeding of the colors. I that necessary? Also I read that if the frosting has crusted over that I should spray a little water on the frosting so the image will stick, will this work for the sides of the cake as well? Any input is appreciated! Thanks :)

5 replies
cake_starter Posted 18 Mar 2015 , 1:21pm
post #2 of 6

I recently did an edible image cake. I had cake baked, frosted a day before. I applied the fondant on friday night and after about an hour, I applied edible image.Before applying the image i brushed very little water on fondant. I used wet brush and lightly brushed on the area where i was going to place the image. It was perfect. I used the cake next day (saturday). 

TheresaCarol Posted 18 Mar 2015 , 1:34pm
post #3 of 6

I have applied an image two days before the needed day and the image has been fine.  If using buttercream icing, you want to make sure you leave enough time for the image to "soak" into the buttercream so that the image sticks to the buttercream when cutting the cake.  Depends on how soft and moist your buttercream icing is.  

The only time I have had an issue with bleeding was when I used them on cookies then put the cookies in an air-tight container; what a mess!  The images smeared so badly I couldn't see them.

sykescakes Posted 18 Mar 2015 , 1:54pm
post #4 of 6