Hi I Need Some Advice About Stacking Tiers With This Recipe Please :)

Baking By JakesMummy Updated 15 Mar 2015 , 6:45pm by JakesMummy

JakesMummy Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 6:55pm
post #1 of 7

Hi I'm fairly new to cake decorating and I've only made single tier cakes before. I've been asked to make a 3 tier cake for a friends birthday and I'm nervous. I've been advised to weigh my eggs and whatever the weight add the same amount of butter, sugar and flour. However my question is, would my cakes be ok to stack if I make my cake in that way? I'm already having nightmares about the cake collapsing. 

6 replies
winniemog Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 7:31pm
post #2 of 7

That's a pretty stable cake recipe - you won't have any trouble stacking it . I don't love the texture of that cake though, perhaps it's in my execution, but I find the texture a little coarse/open, so it doesn't eat as well as other cakes. It's a fine cake to start practising stacking with, although I wouldn't be feeding it to customers.

JakesMummy Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 7:40pm
post #3 of 7

Thanks very much for your advice. What could I do to the recipe to improve the texture?

JakesMummy Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 7:44pm
post #4 of 7

I've used betty crocker box mix the vanilla one with a couple of previous cakes. Would that be ok to stack?

The only problem I find with the BC mix is it seems a bit too moist which may have something to do with the amount of oil I add (I mix two boxes)

winniemog Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 9:45pm
post #5 of 7

I haven't used a mix. There are lots of good vanilla cake recipes on here so try a search. When it comes to stacking, it's more about the support system you use than the cake itself. I use dowels but a lot of people swear by SPS (try a search for this too).

kakeladi Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 11:41pm
post #6 of 7