Flat Cupcakes

Baking By SugarBuzzCC Updated 28 Jan 2016 , 9:55pm by sharonsamazingcakes

SugarBuzzCC Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 1:41am
post #1 of 6

Hi all!  I'm new to Cake Central, and have a question.  I am a doctored-mix baker.  All of my clients love how moist and flavorful my cupcakes are.  However, I've noticed that I do not have nice, rounded tops like I want.  Of course, you can't tell it once frosted, but it drives me crazy!  One thing I have noticed, though, is that if I'm using a recipe with an extender (1/4 cup flour, 1 tbsp sugar and 1/4 tsp baking powder), my cupcakes always seem to have a rounder top.  I would like to accomplish that even when a recipe doesn't require an extender.  If I add 1/4 tsp baking powder to my batter (no extra flour or sugar), would it help them rise better and achieve that rounded top?  I look forward to your suggestions!  :)

5 replies
julia1812 Posted 14 Mar 2015 , 4:06am
post #2 of 6

I don't know how to work with a box mix, so am of no help there. But I have different recipes - for flat and round tops. Depending on what I need them for, I choose between the recipe. A fondant gum paste topper f.e. goes better with a flat top...

Meatcake Posted 15 Mar 2015 , 3:13am
post #3 of 6

I'd be cautious about adding more baking powder, even a bit too much can leave a metallic taste. What you can try is bake them at a higher temp to start and then drop the temp midway, I start mine at 375 or even 400 degrees (if using my jumbo cupcake pan) for the first 5 to 6 minutes them drop the temperature down to 325 to finish, and always get a nice domed top.

remnant3333 Posted 15 Mar 2015 , 3:35am
post #4 of 6