Maryland Law

Business By kbochick Updated 13 Mar 2015 , 10:44pm by -K8memphis

kbochick Posted 13 Mar 2015 , 6:02pm
post #1 of 5

Is anybody taking advantage of the relatively new Maryland cottage food law? I was overseas when it was passed, but I'm back and would very much like to have an actual business. I've been doing cakes for several years for friends, and have spent a lot of money on tools & equipment. (I've been a member here since like 2006, I think, but I rarely post) I don't want to start a huge business, just make it a self-sustaining hobby. There aren't any commercial kitchens up here to rent, nor would I have the money to do so, anyway. I'm up in Washington County, and people up here aren't generally willing to spend a whole lot on cake.

My real question is if any of you have been told that delivering cakes would be legal. The law says I'd have to sell at a farmer's market or other public event. I don't bake for baking's sake. I actually hate baking. I like to decorate, and I only bake so I have something to decorate. So, I have no desire to make things that are generally sold at farmer's markets. I only want to make custom cakes, and you can't really sell custom cakes at a farmer's market. Sure, you want a cake for Friday? Come to the farmer's market the Saturday before to pick it up.  Even making shelf-stable cakes, nobody wants to have a cake that's almost a week old for their party.

I wrote to my Department of Health asking for clarification on that and a few other things, and all I got back was the same little flyer I had seen before. It answered none of my questions, because it was the basis for my questions. I don't think the lady even read my email. I wrote back, but I haven't heard from her again yet. If I will. So, I thought I'd bring the question to you lovely people, and see if you had any experience or advice.

4 replies
craftybanana2 Posted 13 Mar 2015 , 7:54pm
post #2 of 5