Fondant Pieces On Cream Cheese Frosting? Melting?

Decorating By DnDPastry Updated 4 Sep 2015 , 12:26am by Rosemay1

DnDPastry Posted 7 Mar 2015 , 2:04am
post #1 of 13

What experience does anyone have when placing fondant decor on top of a cream cheese frosting covered cake?

I did a test run of a few balls of colored fondant placed on top of a friend's regular cream cheese frosting (Cr. Ch./10x/Butter)

The fondant bled and some even melted into puddles overnight, while refrigerated!

I usually make a cream cheese IMBC filling but never finish the outside of a cake with it (I always use Vanilla IMBC on the outside)

This client absolutely must have the cream cheese on the outside, but wants some fondant decorative pieces as well.

The cake HAS to be finished the night before and kept refrigerated overnight. What can I do to prevent

bleeding, melting fondant?

Any thoughts?

Thanks everyone!

12 replies
Rosemay1 Posted 7 Mar 2015 , 3:40am
post #2 of 13

I'M BY NO MEANS AN EXPERT,BUT AFTER READING ABOUT THE DOWNFALLS OF USING CREAM CHEESE AS A FROSTING (to soft) OR AS A FILLING (too soft as well as not safe ),I AVOID USING CREAM CHEESE AT ALL COSTS. THERE ARE EMULSIONS LIKE LORIANN CREAM CHEESE ,AS WELL AS FLAVORINGS YOU COULD TRY.  REMOVING THE SAFETY FACTOR, CREAM CHEESE IS JUST TOO SOFT. HOPE THIS HELPS. GOOD LUCK

kayteetrudeau Posted 7 Mar 2015 , 3:43am
post #3 of 13

Fondant will melt on cream cheese, without fail. What you can do to protect the fondant pieces is dip the parts that will touch the cream cheese in melted white chocolate. 

kayteetrudeau Posted 7 Mar 2015 , 3:44am
post #4 of 13

Alternately, you could simply wait until the very last minute to put the decorations on. But that is definitely a thing, cream cheese melting fondant.

Rosemay1 Posted 7 Mar 2015 , 3:51am
post #5 of 13