Balancing Home Baking Business And Small Children.

Business By Mybearsbaby Updated 10 Mar 2015 , 4:41pm by Mybearsbaby

Mybearsbaby Posted 6 Mar 2015 , 5:54pm
post #1 of 15

I have been working from home making cakes for a few years now, and since then, I have had a baby (he is two now), and my business has grown ten fold. Over the last year, things have really, really picked up, to the point that I need someone to help me, or need to turn more away. Though I am one of the priciest home bakers, I work hard and have a steady clientele. I get up super early (before my son wakes up) to work, and utilize his nap times and my husband's off days to get orders done. I actually finally found a groove of sorts. I love doing cakes, and feel like for the first time in my life, I found my niche...

But... 

DH and I are wanting another baby soon...probably in the next year. I am so ready, but my fear is that if we have another, there will be no time for baking/decorating, no routine, and I won't be able to do as many cakes. My husband's hours aren't what they used to be, so my baking really supplements our income. We need the money I make, so I can't really just stop ( nor do I want to, because I love what I do). I kind of feel like it is money or another baby...is it too much to want both? 

My question is: is it possible to do both? Are there any other moms of very young children that have made it work? What did you do, and how did you adjust your schedule to make it work? Any tips or advice you would offer other mothers? TIA

14 replies
VS Sweet treats Posted 6 Mar 2015 , 6:34pm
post #2 of 15

Hi Mybearsbaby,

Have you think to hire a nanny to take care of your kids while you are working? or maybe affording a daycare?

Mybearsbaby Posted 6 Mar 2015 , 6:47pm
post #3 of 15

Quote by @VS Sweet treats on 7 minutes ago

Hi Mybearsbaby,

Have you think to hire a nanny to take care of your kids while you are working? or maybe affording a daycare?