Doing A Big Event For The First Time, Seeking Advice!

Business By PixieNibble Updated 14 Apr 2015 , 9:33pm by PixieNibble

PixieNibble Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PixieNibble Posted 16 Feb 2015 , 1:14pm
post #1 of 9

Hello all!

I've been selling my cupcakes at a monthly carboot sale for a few months now, which only lasts about 3 hours but I always manage to sell around half my stock (about 30 cupcakes)

However, my little stall will be selling at an anime convention in early April for the very first time. Its a LOT busier than the carboot I've previously sold at.....and by busy I mean 1000+ people attend.

I'm a little bit lost as to how many cakes I should make. The table is a good size, 6ft by 2ft which is usually what I sell at, but its the sheer number of people that has rumbled me. Of course I want to sell out, but preferably not within an hour but there isn't the storage space for a dragon's hoard of cake.

I have planned to make the buttercream icing 2 days in advance, and the actual cakes the day before since I have to leave early to get to the venue which isnt very local to me. I know there is a thread talking about freezing cupcakes several days in advance, but to be frank my freezer does not have the room......at a stretch it could take half a batch? so this isn't really a viable option for me. I'm also a one-woman baker working from home.

Please help! Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

8 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 16 Feb 2015 , 3:43pm
post #2 of 9