Tappits For Fondant

Decorating By mollysuzie Updated 24 Jan 2015 , 8:03pm by KathleenC

mollysuzie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mollysuzie Posted 19 Jan 2015 , 10:38pm
post #1 of 12

AWhat is the best brand of tappits to use for cutting letters out of fondant? Any that work? I've never used tappits before, just metal cookie cutters. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

11 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 19 Jan 2015 , 11:22pm
post #2 of 12

I strongly recommend ClikStix     You can purchase them online from globalsugarart.com and other online suppliers.

Here is a very good video on how to use the ClikStix and how they look:

I recently purchased  BLOCK Upper Case, BLOCK Lower Case, and BLOCK Numbers--$36 for all three plus shipping fees from globalsugarart.com

As a hobby baker (started in 2010), I've purchased all sorts of expensive cake goodies and tappits.  I personally don't have good luck with regular tappits; probably because I don't use them much.  I like the ClikStix because they have an ejector that is a tremendous help.   Fondant letters and numbers elevate the appearance of a cake from "ok" to "wow" and totally eliminate the need to have great writing skills with buttercream. 

Recently I donated 2 huge cakes (two 12"x4" square cakes) for my Pastor's retirement party.  The fondant decorations were fabulous, the cakes looked and tasted fabulous, but I messed up two freakin' *&^%$(*& letters on the handwritten buttercream message.  I wanted to scream and tear my hair out.  IF I had owned the Clikstix, the overal presentation of my cake would have looked like $7 a serving cake.   But....no....... the lettering immediately decreased the overall look to "regular bakery" cake for $2-$3 a serving.

Came right home and ordered them online.  I will NOT make that rookie mistake again!

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 20 Jan 2015 , 2:10am
post #3 of 12

First, Tappits are a brand name.