Fondant Cake Toppers Without Gum-Tex

Decorating By madroxide Updated 14 Jan 2015 , 1:10am by maybenot

madroxide Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
madroxide Posted 12 Jan 2015 , 6:24pm
post #1 of 9

AOkay, I hope I am posting this right as I am very new to Cake Central. Anyways, making a cake for a friends son who has severe dairy allergies. We have scoured through the ingredients I would use to make traditional fondant and MMF and figured out how to make it work for them. However my concern came when I realized the cake toppers they want I would typically add gumpaste or Gum-Tex directly to it. The reason we cant is because on the label it says it in made in a facility that handles dairy products which means is is a no go (he is THAT allergic).

In short, can I still make the cake toppers out of fondant without adding the gum tex. Will it dry hard and not slouch or be too squishy so to speak. I am newer to cake decorating as well and have only made my toppers out of fondant with gumpaste added. Also if it would be easier to use traditional vs mmf. I have only worked with mmf on my simple cakes when i first started so ive never sculpted anything with it.

8 replies
goddessofmath Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
goddessofmath Posted 12 Jan 2015 , 8:01pm
post #2 of 9

Hi there! I just asked something similar.  I've only worked with fondant without additives, and I haven't had wilting decorations as long as I let them dry for a long time ahead of time.  Recently I was placing a bow on a cake and was worried about placing it 24 hours before the event because of possibly wilting.  I made sure the customer didn't put the cake in a fridge and kept it lightly covered but not air-tight in a cool, dark place.  I also put paper towel forms inside the bow to keep its shape, just in case, and the customer removed them right before her event.  It worked just fine.  What kind of toppers are you making?

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile