Ideas For Outside Of Chocolate Wedding Cake?

Decorating By annlw Updated 12 Jan 2015 , 5:40pm by winniemog

annlw Posted 12 Jan 2015 , 3:29pm
post #1 of 4

Hi All,

I'm at work on a wedding cake for a friend and this time with some issues. First of all, I work full-time and the cake is needed on Friday night! Plus I have a bunch of stuff after work this week, so I"m awfully pressed for time. Basically, I'm allotting Thursday night for assembling and decorating, but that's it. 
Second, the bride and groom want chocolate (gluten-free too), and would prefer chocolate on the outside too, as it's the winter here in NYC and they don't like fondant. 

Due to time constraints, I'm concerned about covering the cake in modeling chocolate--basically because I've never used it before and am afraid I'll screw it up. 
So I'm trying to come up with some time-saving ideas. I'd love to hear your ideas or thoughts. Here are some thoughts/questions:

1. If I were to do ganache only, does anyone have a good way of getting it super glossy and smooth?

2. What is a good candy or coating that I could put outside of a chocolate ganache (and that would easily stick to it yet look pretty)? I've noticed ganache is not always as smooth as I'd like it to be, so I'd love to put something outside that would look pretty with the chocolate. Cocoa nibs? Chocolate shavings? Any other ideas? I'd love to know where I could get long chocolate tiles or plaques (or is athere is a suitable candy bar that has long tiles?)

2. How hard is modeling chocolate to use? I was thinking of cutting long ribbons and then putting these slightly asymmetrically up the sides of the cake, but I don't know if this will cause me major headache. My idea is like the dark chocolate one with roses on this site:

3. Any other thoughts for something pretty and chocolate AND which will not cause me major stress but look elegant?

Thanks very much!

3 replies
winniemog Posted 12 Jan 2015 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 4