New To Cookie Baking/decorating

Decorating By RachelC Updated 12 Jan 2015 , 3:42am by Apti

RachelC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RachelC Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 9:28pm
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone!

So I'm very new to baking cookies for cutting/decorating, so i have a few questions. I used the No Fail Sugar Cookie Recipe on here but cut the ingredients by half because I didn't want to be left with so much dough and it not turn out right. 

I baked the cookies, and they looked a bit lighter in color, edges didn't turn brown- I even left it in the oven for a bit longer to cook. I think I may have rolled it thicker than i should have because they came out a bit thick. The picture below shows some turned over (and the nice brown side on the bottom).

I gave it a quick bite and it actually tastes good, more shortbread than a regular cookie (not sure if that's right or not, but still nonetheless delicious).

Oh I would also like to add that I substituted the white sugar for stevia instead (trying to cut down on the sugar intake in our house- wonder if that made the difference?)

One more thing, if you have any comments/tips on a lower sugar, healthier version would be great. A few people in my family have medical issues. 

Any helps/tips/comments would greatly be appreciated. I'm cooling these to ice this afternoon.

7 replies
Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 10:38pm
post #2 of 8

AIf you substitute ingredients then it's not the same recipe - you've completely changed the dynamics of it so of course it won't behave the same.

RachelC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RachelC Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 10:49pm
post #3 of 8

AI wouldn't say completely altered it, the only difference is the sugar type I used. I didn't know that granulated sugar vs stevie would cause THAT big of a difference in the outcome.

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 11 Jan 2015 , 11:14pm
post #4 of 8