Leftover Gingerbread Cookie Dough - I Have An Idea.....

Baking By JewellerTracy Updated 30 Dec 2014 , 10:50pm by Pastrybaglady

JewellerTracy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JewellerTracy Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 11:40pm
post #1 of 8

Good morning !

I made a big batch of gingerbread cookies this year, first time ever and they were great (yayy)

However, the recipe I used made way too much dough (seriously, waaaaayyyy too much). I put some in the freezer, hope that will be OK, and still have a little in the fridge. I'm still up to my eyeballs in cookies (I don't eat them and was short on visitors this year) but I really want to use the dough.

I am thinking that I will try rolling the dough out fairly thin and lining some small cupcake or muffin tins with it to make little tartlet cases....but I have a few questions for you experienced bakers out there as I'm new to this.

Here goes:

1. Will this work? I'm thinking I should blind bake them for part of the cooking time (or all?)....

2. Suggestions for fillings? I was thinking maybe a cream cheese frosting, although that may be too rich,  or cheesecake filling. Perhaps a chocolate ganache type thing, but again, may be too rich. Any suggestions of flavours/fillings that would go well with gingerbread and are not too rich and heavy?

3. Will the dough be the same as it was originally if I have kept it in the fridge for a few days or will it be different to work and cook with?

Cheers  :grin:

7 replies
ammcats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ammcats Posted 30 Dec 2014 , 1:00am
post #2 of 8

AI think your tart cases idea is great! Think of things that naturally go with ginger. First that springs to mind is rhubarb and custard. Yum

JewellerTracy Posted 30 Dec 2014 , 1:58am
post #3 of 8

Oohh...hadn't thought of that. Thanks Ammcats ;-D

Difficult thing is that I don't eat sweet stuff.....

BrandisBaked Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BrandisBaked Posted 30 Dec 2014 , 1:59am
post #4 of 8