Help- I'm New To Baking/freezing Cupcakes!

Decorating By noob30 Updated 30 Dec 2014 , 6:15pm by noob30

noob30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
noob30 Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 3:56pm
post #1 of 17

Hi everyone,

After scouring many articles I'm confused about what to do :)  So I baked 12 coffee-chocolate flavored cupcakes and 12 vanilla cupcakes and froze them without frosting a week ago for a New Years party I'm hosting in 2 days. I froze them like this- I let them cool completely (maybe a little more than I should've oops lol) and then wrapped them individually twice in plastic wrap and then placed the wrapped cupcakes in sealed ziploc bags and then into the freezer.

So my question is how can I frost these without compromising the quality of the cupcakes?  Ideally I would love to frost them the night before because the day of might be stressful to make the frosting and frost the cakes.  Is it possible to maybe thaw them in the fridge tomorrow, frost them and have them ready for the party the day after tomorrow?

Or is it better for me to thaw at room temperature on the day of and make the frosting/frost the cakes the day of? 

Also how long do they last at room temperature after they have been thawed/defrosted?  Can I keep them out for 6 hours at room temperature?

16 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 4:08pm
post #2 of 17

Make the frosting now.  Store it however is most convenient for you - on the counter, in the fridge.

Take the cupcakes out of the freezer the morning you want to eat them, frost them, put them on a nice platter and put a cake dome over them.  Done.

PS you can freeze cupcakes already baked, filled and frosted.  I do it all the time. 

noob30 Posted 29 Dec 2014 , 4:15pm
post #3 of 17