Wedding Cake Question

Decorating By janetcentral Updated 7 Jan 2015 , 11:32pm by kakeladi

janetcentral Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janetcentral Posted 26 Dec 2014 , 8:12am
post #1 of 11

AI have been asked to do this wedding cake. I have too many questions lol. I have been making cAkes for 10 years all buttercream and whipped cream. Fondant is my weak point. How can I make that tux cake? Also the brides would like it to feed 500. IMO thats alot of cake. I don't even know how much to charge. She found the pic online. All your advice will be very much appreciated. [IMG]http://www.cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3316124/width/200/height/400[/IMG]

10 replies
savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 26 Dec 2014 , 1:24pm
post #2 of 11

You can refer to a serving chart to figure out how many tiers and what size to do (wilton or earlene).  Those would be  large  cakes at 250 servings per cake, and to cover such sizes with fondant would be challenging if you work with buttercream.  That being said, I would do  smaller cakes with additional kitchen cake(s)  for serving. Tons of pricing info on this site, just do a search.  

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 26 Dec 2014 , 2:08pm
post #3 of 11

Ayou could set both cakes on top of a nice big sheet cake so if the big 4-5" tall sheet cake serves 200 that leaves the bride & groom cakes at 150 each -- when a big crowd doesn't see enough food or cake at the reception they leave or don't eat so it's important to have a good showing for a large celebration

savannahquinn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
savannahquinn Posted 26 Dec 2014 , 4:36pm
post #4 of 11

great idea! K8!:grin:

-K8memphis Posted 26 Dec 2014 , 6:20pm
post #5 of 11

thank you, sq

janetcentral Posted 27 Dec 2014 , 2:18am
post #6 of 11