Buttercream And Fondant Help

Decorating By SassyBaker89 Updated 17 Dec 2014 , 1:41am by dukeswalker

SassyBaker89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SassyBaker89 Posted 16 Dec 2014 , 1:42am
post #1 of 8

AHello,

I am new to cake central and also a new baker. I am having some trouble with rolling fondant onto my cakes without the buttercream seeping out the bottom. This is also and issue when I am trying to get smooth edges and side on the fondant cake. I have tried several buttercream recipes they all seem to get very soft once I have iced the cake. Please help!!!

7 replies
FutureCakeBoss Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FutureCakeBoss Posted 16 Dec 2014 , 4:56am
post #2 of 8

I would recommend covering the cake with a thin coat of buttercream then putting it in the fridge/freezer until it get firm. In the meanwhile, roll out your fondant, then when its time, take out the cake and put the fondant on.

To get smooth edges (which is a pain the rear end lol), i would recommend getting 2 fondant smoothers and using one on the top of the cake and one on the side at the same time focusing on the edges to create a sharper look. its kind of hard to explain, i would recommend watching a youtube video lol

Hope this was helpful!

storestore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
storestore Posted 16 Dec 2014 , 4:58am
post #3 of 8

AFirst, don't roll your fondant too thick or it will be heavy and put pressure on your icing. I roll mine about the width of a dime. Also, I always put my cakes in the fridge for a few hours after icing them to stiffen up the buttercream so it doesn't move.

SassyBaker89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SassyBaker89 Posted 16 Dec 2014 , 4:46pm
post #4 of 8

AThanks a lot for the advise. I try to chill the cakes before rolling the fondant on them but the fondant gets very sticky and moist once placed on the cake. I use Wilton fondant. Any suggestions?

storestore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
storestore Posted 16 Dec 2014 , 6:17pm