Help! Covering Cake With Home Made Fondant

Decorating By iram88 Updated 13 Dec 2014 , 6:40pm by iram88

iram88 Posted 12 Dec 2014 , 9:54pm
post #1 of 7

AI'm actually losing my mind over this. Iv spent endless hours searching the net and I'm just more confused than I was to start with.

So I'm a beginner and started making classic fondant at home in order to bake my twins 1st birthday cakes myself. The problem I have is when it comes to rolling out and covering the cake. I can't get it to 1/8th 1/4 inch thick and cover the cake without tears and crumbles. The only way iv got around it successfully is by adding tylose but I hate that it changes the taste. Iv discovered on the net that its possible to cover a cake without any type of gum but I can't do it! And I feel like a failure. The recipe I use is; 8 cups icing sugars ¼ cup cold water 1 envelope (1/4 ounce) unflavored gelatin ½ cup glucose syrup 1 tablespoon glycerin 2 tablespoons vegetable shortening, plus additional for work surface

Furthermore ready made fondants ingredients show they have some sort of gum but because I want to make my twins cakes from scratch I want to make the fondant myself.

So my question is how can I cover a cake with homemade fondant without the use of tylose, gumtex, cmc or gum trag? Have you successfully done it?

6 replies
TheNerdyBaker Posted 13 Dec 2014 , 3:55am
post #2 of 7

AHonestly, without any of us making up a batch of that particular fondant, we won't be much help.

Is it tearing because it just can't support its own weight, or it it drying out quickly and tearing from that?

bubs1stbirthday Posted 13 Dec 2014 , 9:05am
post #3 of 7

If it is too dry then I would try adding a bit more glucose or leaving out a bit of icing sugar when making the fondant and if it is still too dry I would add a little more glycerine after making it and just before using it.