How Can I Accomplish This Look?

Decorating By bakeforfun21 Updated 16 Dec 2014 , 8:26pm by MBalaska

bakeforfun21 Posted 12 Dec 2014 , 5:03pm
post #1 of 16

I am trying to do a starry night themed anniversary cake. I am using a dark blue fondant for the base color but how can I accomplish the stars without buying the edible jewels? If I take silver paint (edible of course) and just splash it on will that work?

This is my design I cam up with. It's my first time designing my own cake. Sorry it's so small.

15 replies
petitecat Posted 12 Dec 2014 , 5:42pm
post #2 of 16

You could cut out stars in fondant and then paint in edible silver.

TheNerdyBaker Posted 13 Dec 2014 , 4:03am
post #3 of 16

AI think embossing would look better honestly.

Go to the craft store, snag a star stamp, decently sized, dip that bad boy in silver luster dust mixed with some vodka and stamp it in to a freshly fondanted cake.

costumeczar Posted 13 Dec 2014 , 2:50pm
post #4 of 16

If you do the embossing the cake had better be hard as a rock underneath the fondant or it will look like a bunch of puckers! The fondant stars painted with silver would probably be better.

I'd take some silver luster dust, make a THICK paint by mixing it with vodka, and paint the start on with a fine-tipped paintbrush. If you're using a light color on top of darker fondant it might not show very well, so you could also start by painting white royal icing onto it them going over that with the silver if it doesn't show up well.

Or you could just do the whole thing in buttercream and paint the icing on with foam brushes (so the hairs from the paintbrush don't get into the icing).I've done a bunch of Starry Night cakes and I did them all with colored buttercreams. It just depends on how comfortable you are with painting in general.

bakeforfun21 Posted 15 Dec 2014 , 4:47pm
post #5 of 16

Quote:

Originally Posted by petitecat 

You could cut out stars in fondant and then paint in edible silver.