Birthday Cake Ideas

Decorating By aapoll Updated 8 Dec 2014 , 8:54pm by Mimimakescakes

aapoll Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aapoll Posted 6 Dec 2014 , 5:12pm
post #1 of 15

AHello everyone,

I am looking for ideas on how to make a birthday cake for my son. He will 3 on January 19th and is absolutely obsessed with anything with an engine (trains, monster trucks, quads, snowmobiles, planes, tractors, ect).

Just over a year ago myself and my daughter were diagnosed celiac. My entire house went gluten free because it is so much easier than having to worry about the million and one ways cross contamination can occur. The real challenge in gluten free is the baking. So I've been trying my hand at making my own baked goods (and making them look pretty).... I hate to say it but I've pretty much given up on most from scratch recipes and find the Betty Crocker gluten free cake mix to be pretty good. I still experiment occasionally but I'm not very good at troubleshooting.

Anyways my question is does anyone know of any tutorials to make a cake of any of the above things that might work with a gluten free mix? How about a gluten free recipe that will hold together well enough to be carved? Or good tutorials for a cake? I thought about buying that train cake pan but I'm not sure that would work... Not does the idea of a lot of tiny trains appeal to me.

Thanks for any help offered! It's been difficult trying to adjust to this and make everything safe for myself and my daughter to eat (she's 4 and really gets upset when she can't have cake but other kids can).

14 replies
winniemog Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
winniemog Posted 6 Dec 2014 , 7:19pm
post #2 of 15