Sarah's Red Velvet Cake - When Is It Done?

Baking By mwsessoms Updated 6 Dec 2014 , 8:50am by -K8memphis

mwsessoms Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mwsessoms Posted 5 Dec 2014 , 7:19pm
post #1 of 5

I'm a beginner baker and have been trying to use the creaming method for certain cakes. If I use the muffin method (mix dry, mix wet, then add together), my cakes come out perfect every time. But when I try recipes that use the creaming method, I always have problems. The recipe that I've made probably 30 times is Sarah's RV cake. The recipe mixes very well, no problems there. The problems arise when cooking.

I've tried 325 & 350 and cooked anywhere from 30min to 45min in 2 8x2 pans. These are the problems I'm having:

1) at the 30 min mark, a toothpick comes out *clean* and the cake has pulled away from the sides, but touching it lightly leaves indentations all over. Is the cake done at this point? What takes precedence, a clean toothpick or a cake that springs back? 

2) at around 45min, the cake begins to spring back but is absolutely dry and tough.

Do cakes made from the creaming method not spring back as easily as cakes made from the muffin method? Also, every time I use the creaming method, the cakes stick terribly. I've tried pam, baker's joy, homemade cake release, and parchment paper. If I use parchment paper, the cakes stick to parchment paper and when I pull the parchment paper off, a big chunk of the cake comes off with it. This happens at both 30min & 45min. But with the muffin method, I've never had cakes to stick.

I'm trying so hard to achieve perfection on this cake because the taste is out-of-this-world. If anybody has any suggestions for me, I'd be very thankful :)

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 5 Dec 2014 , 7:37pm
post #2 of 5

does it recommed to use 2 eight inch pans? often these cake recipes say 3 nine inch pans* -- that might be too much batter in there -- and it can screw up the bake --