Price For A Stadium Cake? I Know People Hate These Questions, But I Have Specifics.

Business By SandyES00 Updated 24 Nov 2014 , 8:12pm by Dayti

SandyES00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandyES00 Posted 23 Nov 2014 , 8:29pm
post #1 of 4

So a friend of my father's wants a cake carved into the shape of Camden Yards (Oriole Park) for her son's birthday cake.  They want it to feed at least a hundred people, but hopefully a bit more.  I was wondering what people would charge for a cake like that.  I live in a metropolitan area where prices are relatively high.  I am an at home baker, and generally charge $3.50 per serving for a buttercream cake as a base and $4.50 for a fondant cake.  Obviously extra depending on level of decoration and sculpted figures, etc.  I start my carved cakes at $5.00 per serving, but wasnt really sure where to go from there with this cake.  I am going to give them a considerable discount, but have to calculate the orginal cost so I know what the discounted price would be.  I'm always afraid with friends that they will be offended by the price, but I genuinely believe that this cake, has a market value of at least $750 and that may be at the low end.  Thoughts?

3 replies
FioreCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FioreCakes Posted 24 Nov 2014 , 3:01am
post #2 of 4

You need to determine how much cake will be carved away and include that in the servings. We also don't know whether it will be fondant? how detailed? I would have to design the cake (sketch, do calculations) to determine a price but I know that it would AT LEAST be $600. It also depends on your skill level. There is just no way to answer this question without knowing what you a visualizing in your head. 

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 24 Nov 2014 , 7:57pm
post #3 of 4