Black Forest Cake With Or W/out Cream?

Baking By tessholly1 Updated 17 Nov 2014 , 8:32am by petitecat

tessholly1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tessholly1 Posted 16 Nov 2014 , 10:32pm
post #1 of 9

AI have an order for a Black Forest flavour cake, but it needs to be sculpted into a giant cupcake and covered in fondant!! I've never tried 'black forest' before but every recipe I've seen says to use fresh whipped cream and so I'm worriedas this will not work for this style of cake.. Stacked, sculpted, crumb coated and then covered in fondant!!! Could I use white chocolate ganache instead.. Would this taste as good?!

8 replies
Krypto Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 17 Nov 2014 , 5:02am
post #3 of 9

ANooo!!! Lol, sorry

tessholly1 Posted 17 Nov 2014 , 6:50am
post #4 of 9

AOk so thank you for the input, the trouble is my client desperately wants a giant Cupcake however it's for her husband so she wants the top to look like a football sat in the cupcake case, that's why I have to use fondant!! Do you all think it would be best for me to suggest she change the flavour of the cake as black forest just isn't possible?

Dayti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dayti Posted 17 Nov 2014 , 7:23am
post #5 of 9

A

Original message sent by tessholly1

Do you all think it would be best for me to suggest she change the flavour of the cake as black forest just isn't possible?

Yes! Whipped cream and fruit do not make for a good fondant covered cake, especially if carving is involved.

petitecat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
petitecat Posted 17 Nov 2014 , 7:59am
post #6 of 9