Fondant Breaks

Decorating By cakelove2105 Updated 15 Nov 2014 , 12:34pm by cakelove2105

cakelove2105 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakelove2105 Posted 12 Nov 2014 , 10:47pm
post #1 of 16

Hello cake lovers,

Does anybody have some tips as to how to avoid the fondant dryness and cracking? I made a cake today, and right when I had the fondant over my cake to cover it, it cracked and broke. My cake then had a big whole on one of its sides. I would also love some suggestions on how to fix it when something like this happens..

I'm pretty new at fondant decorating, so bare with me here lol

Thank you all in advance. 

15 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Nov 2014 , 12:42am
post #2 of 16

Was it homemade?  What brand?     It;s hard to advise without more info.

cakelove2105 Posted 13 Nov 2014 , 1:16am
post #3 of 16

Quote:

Originally Posted by kakeladi 

Was it homemade?  What brand?     It;s hard to advise without more info.

Hi kakelady, thank you. I made it from marshmallows myself. I added I little bit of  corn syrup to the mix. Finally, I kneaded it with half sugar glass half corn starch on my table. I was thinking that it might had to do with the corn starch. In addition, my fondant was not elastic at all. help, what am I doing wrong?

bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 13 Nov 2014 , 1:36am
post #4 of 16

I used to make MMF and never had any luck with it, no doubt lots of people use it successfully but I never found a recipe that worked and I always found it so messy to make.

I found a new recipe and although there are more ingredients it is so simple and so much better than MMF that I have never looked back. It was posted by Costumczar in another thread. I will post the link and you can just go through the thread and find her post.

Hmm - I can't seem to copy and post the link for some reason.... temperamental computer.