Securing Center Dowel Into Single Thickness Cardboard Base

Decorating By shellebellecake Updated 6 Nov 2014 , 6:00am by shellebellecake

shellebellecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shellebellecake Posted 5 Nov 2014 , 5:56am
post #1 of 6

Hi all - I'm new here :)  I've been making cakes for friends and family for a few years now, but have been helping my mom make cakes for nearly all of my life.

I thumbed through the archives and didn't see my specific question answered.  Hopefully someone can give me some advice :)

Only recently did I discover the center dowel trick for tiered cakes and it works extremely well for me.  However, I've now started working with cake stands and that means no thick bottom base to anchor my dowel into.  Given that my cakes will only have a single layer of cake board underneath them now, is there a way to assemble my tiers at home, secure them, transport, and then simply drop onto the cake stand on site and add any needed finishing?  My cakes always travel thoroughly chilled.  Having someone hold the cake in the car is almost never an option for me as well - just a flat load floor and grippy mat to work with.

I had to assemble a cake on site on Saturday because of a stand and boy, I had to haul half of my kitchen with me.  I'd really like to avoid this.

Thank you!

5 replies
shellebellecake Posted 5 Nov 2014 , 6:54am
post #2 of 6

Also - just slipping a quick question in - I have my first four tier cake this week.  I've made several three tier cakes and they've been no biggie, so one more tier doesn't seem like much of a stretch.  Do I need to do anything special or do I just give each layer boba straw supports?  I will only stack and dowel the bottom two tiers ahead of time - don't want to risk a heavy cake down my stairs.

Thanks!

petitecat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
petitecat Posted 5 Nov 2014 , 9:50am
post #3 of 6