Advice For Aspiring Decorator?

Business By J-Rex Updated 6 Nov 2014 , 12:51pm by embersmom

J-Rex Posted 4 Nov 2014 , 2:42am
post #1 of 15

I originally planned on being an artist, but I got a job in a grocery store bakeshop. When my boss saw my art, she decided to put me on cakes. I realized I love it so much that I would rather do this for a living.

I definitely don't want to open my own bakery or have a home business or anything. Too much stress! I'd rather get hired by an existing bakery as a decorator.

Any advice? What do bakeries look for in decorators? Should I take classes or learn from home? Or both?

When I've done basic job searches, the only listings that come up are for other grocery store bakeshops, even though there are nicer bakeries in my area. Should I go to bakeries with a resume and portfolio even if they don't say they're hiring?

Here's some of the stuff I've done at my store. It's not much (my boss doesn't like it when I take my time), so I've just ordered some decorating supplies to practice on my own.

14 replies
petitecat Posted 4 Nov 2014 , 12:26pm
post #2 of 15

Hi JRex, I've never worked in a bakery. But I read a thread some time ago about someone wanting to work in one and asking for advice. Speed is essential, as you've found out from your boss' reaction to the time you take to decorate. 

I'm fairly sure you need to be able to cover a range of skills- basic and advanced piping (all kinds), covering cakes in buttercream (square, round, etc) making sure they are level and smooth, piping flowers and leaves, mastering royal icing techniques, etc . I'm not sure where you are and what the preferences are in your area, but it may involve fondant work as well, such as covering cakes in fondant and creating fondant figures.