Pricing For A Newbie

Business By jesst96 Updated 28 Oct 2014 , 1:12am by johnson6ofus

jesst96 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jesst96 Posted 26 Oct 2014 , 4:09am
post #1 of 18

minion

I am just beginning to think about a home-based cake business.  I have already checked with the state about the policies.  I made this cake for a distant family member and only charged her $75 (and still feel like I am overcharging).  I figured about $25 for supplies and it took about 10 hours.  I've seen some people say they charge 4x supplies plus $20/hour.  That would be $300!  Does that seem exorbitant for this cake?  It is about 5 layers 8" (plus a little tiny 4-5 inch one out front), so that's about 50-55 servings I think.  That would be $6 per serving, which seems high.  I just don't know if that is appropriate for specially decorated cakes.  Maybe a basic buttercream would be more around the $3 mark?  I know prices vary widely, but just looking for a little advice for a newbie.  Thanks so much!

17 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 26 Oct 2014 , 6:18pm
post #2 of 18

Well, if you have a business you'll have other expenses besides the ingredients, which I assume is what you mean by Supplies.  You'll have license fees, costs for car use, self-employment taxes,  insurance (you'll need commercial insurance to use your personal car to deliver cakes), advertising, utilities, etc etc etc. I can only speak for myself, but I net about 54% of my gross on cakes. If I charged $300 for that cake I'd be making a little over $150 profit, and if it took 10 hours that's $15 an hour, so that's too low for me personally. You also have to take into account the time that it took you to answer emails and phone calls about it, shop for the ingredients, plan it, etc, so it isn't just hands-on kitchen time that you have to take into account.