Cheap Customers

Lounge By CollieMom89 Updated 12 Aug 2014 , 5:29pm by CollieMom89

CollieMom89 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CollieMom89 Posted 12 Aug 2014 , 4:43pm
post #1 of 5

Don't we just LOVE them?  I don't really sell my cakes (get money for ingredients if I make for a family member or friend), but I do try and sell my cake toppers.  

I had a woman writing me today looking for a somewhat elaborate cake topper with a halloween/circus theme who was rather offended by my quoted price... (Though in all seriousness, my prices are a bit generous in her favor as I am still learning as I go and don't feel I'm up to asking what some more experienced bakers may ask).  

That said, I do expect payment for my materials and my time as well.  If I estimate that someone more experienced than me would take about 3 hours on something that might take me 4, I will quote them for 3.  

She writes: "I'm not paying [xx] dollars for something to sit on the cake that's small in size.  I only pay $35 for a cake that feeds over 100 people."  Mind you, she hadn't TOLD me the size of her cake yet and I sent her a range of prices depending on the size of her cake. 

So I quickly write back: "No problem at all, I understand that some people don't realize how much time, material and care go into creating custom pieces out of what is essentially sugar dough.  Doing a lot of baking myself, I know that you could not even buy supplies for a cake to feed over 100 people for less than $35, so please pass on my condolences to whoever is selling themselves so cheap.  I believe the grocery store bakery has a lovely assortment of plastic, cheap decorations to choose from.  Have a good day!!'  

...And then I promptly deleted that message, and sent her just a simple "No problem.  Sorry I could not help you this time.  Good luck with the rest of your cake and please let me know if there's anything I can do for you in the future. Have a great day!"