Help With Handbag Cake Please

Decorating By Nicki161 Updated 27 Sep 2014 , 4:09pm by Nitaann

Nicki161 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nicki161 Posted 10 Aug 2014 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 26

AI've been asked to do a handbag cake for Thursday a shopper bag style,about 6/8" h 8"w 4" d roughly, I've never done this style before and I'm having sleepless nights worrying about it it's always on my mind,I've only ever done the bowling bag style before I'm a hobby baker self taught with the help of the Internet watching videos and reading tutorial has taught me everything I no, I've a couple of questions if anyone could help guide me through it please

. Would I need to support the cake in any way with dowels etc?

I'm planning on baking two 8" cakes that are 2" tall each cut them into two ,so they are 4" d 8" w then stack them on top of each other Using 3 or 4 of them , I've read that some people don't dowel, others do What would your advice be please ?

Also this might should really silly but I can't seem to find the answer anywhere, Some people say they board and dowel there cakes ,If I put 2 layers of sponge then a board then another two layers of sponge wouldn't all the moisture from the cake soak into the board/ cake card making it all soft and soggy? Or do you have to coat it in something first , sorry if it sounds silly but I've only ever used cake boards on the bottom of an iced cake as part of a two tier cake so it sat on dowels on top of fondant , not in the middle of cakes ,

The only weight going on the cake would be handles made from Gum paste

Hope you understand my post and some one can help me sleep tonight lol

25 replies
denetteb Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
denetteb Posted 10 Aug 2014 , 6:13pm
post #2 of 26