Business Opportunity...what Would You Do?

Business By BakeVT Updated 5 Aug 2014 , 10:09pm by ellavanilla

BakeVT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakeVT Posted 4 Aug 2014 , 2:21pm
post #1 of 6

Hello all!  Long time lurker, first time poster here.  I want to start off by saying that this place is absolutely amazing...the advice provided and support given is stellar!  That being said, I could use some advice.  Here's the deal:

I've been a licensed home baker since 2007.  Baking is my passion, but I never really had the time to commit to an actual business, until now.  I've made a few cakes for profit, but I mostly bake for family and friends.  I feel like I have the basics down, but I am not comfortable enough with my skills at this point to sell cakes to the general public.  I was laid off at the end of May, and recently moved to a new town.  I started selling baked goods (cupcakes, donuts and artisan bread) at a local farmer's market and the feedback has been outstanding.  I now have regular customers who come to the farmer's market specifically for my products and they're requesting special orders.  The past two months, I've sold out every week.  I know my overhead, I've done my homework, and I have a pretty good handle on what I need to charge to break even.  I've taken advantage of programs offered through the SBA, and I have a S.C.O.R.E. mentor that I meet with on a regular basis. 

Currently a couple of recent events have changed the business landscape significantly.  An extremely talented baker in my town who specialized in wedding cakes is relocating and no longer taking orders.  The local donut shop closed at the end of June after 18 years of business due to the fact that they couldn't recover from the recession.  There's a bakery in town, but they don't do custom orders and they don't even sell donuts.  The closest place to buy individual donuts is 10 miles north, cupcakes even farther, and legit cake decorators are few and far between.