Wedding Cake Collapse

Decorating By LSUmomma36 Updated 19 Jul 2014 , 4:02am by LSUmomma36

LSUmomma36 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LSUmomma36 Posted 14 Jul 2014 , 7:16pm
post #1 of 44

I've been decorating cake for years. Started out doing kids bdays etc and then a little shower cake her and there and then a wedding cake and what started as a hobby turned into more. I don't profess to be a professional. I'm self taught with a few classes here and there and you tube, magazines, cake places like this and craftsy. I've had my share of problems from time to time but nothing I haven't been able to fix, until this past Sat!!! The family had rented me a cabin on the grounds of the wedding. I had baked all layers at home because I like my own oven plus wanted to be a step a head, so baked and wrapped layers for travel 3 hours away. Filled and crumb coated cakes and put in fridge. The next morning I take cakes at to frost and decorate. The fridge is not cooling well and water is dripping in the back making a puddle under the drawers. My cake boards are damp and cakes feel damp. They were extremely hard to decorated. Icing kept wanting to fall away. Had to change a few decorations because the conditions were causing things to slide off. Needless to say at this time I am in panic mode. Finally am able to finish, dress and head out down the road to set cake up. Upon arrival part of the back side of the cake had fallen away. I wanted to break into tears. Just as I popped the back of my SUV it came a rain from hell, sideways! We managed to bring cakes in with little water damage but it was bad.This is someones special day! In a rush I had to stack and redecorate the fallen away part as best I could. As soon as I was done I back away and it appeared to be leaning! I was and have been mortified. I couldn't enjoy the wedding because I was so disappointed in my self and the cake. I cried and have considered I maybe shouldn't do this anymore. Needless to say I didn't charge th