Monopoly Edible Logo

Decorating By ceeleen Updated 30 Jun 2014 , 8:27pm by hbquikcomjamesl

ceeleen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ceeleen Posted 30 Jun 2014 , 1:27pm
post #1 of 7

Hi!

I'm quite new in the cake decorating business and a friend of mine is asking me to make her a monopoly game board themed cake. My question is does anyone know where can I buy (online) a monopoly logo edible print out? Thank you so much. :D

6 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 30 Jun 2014 , 3:13pm
post #2 of 7

Have your tried contacting the copyright owner of the logo?  I believe it is Hasbro...

They would be able to give you permission to create an edible image.  Most likely if you can't find one, they haven't given anyone permission to use it in that manner.

You may need to show them examples of previous works that would let them know how their image may turn out.

cai0311 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cai0311 Posted 30 Jun 2014 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 7

ASince the logo is copyright, you are going to have a tough time finding anyone print one for you - even with approval from the company. I have my local grocery store bakery print my edible images for me, but they won't do anyting that is a copy right - even if I have approval.

Sorry I couldn't really be of any help.

hbquikcomjamesl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hbquikcomjamesl Posted 30 Jun 2014 , 4:34pm
post #4 of 7

Actually, while the Monopoly logo may or may not be in copyright, it's certainly a trademark, and probably registered. Trademark owners can have very laid-back attitudes about inherently harmless usage (edible printing, model trains, and so forth), or they can be downright nasty.