Price Out Cake And Cupcakes

Decorating By simplyme4469 Updated 30 Jun 2014 , 2:34pm by -K8memphis

simplyme4469 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
simplyme4469 Posted 29 Jun 2014 , 9:00pm
post #1 of 11

AI decorate cakes as a hobby for friends and family. Recently someone asked me to make a cake and continued to tell me price isn't a problem. However I feel I sell myself short lol. Plus I get self conscious regarding making a cake for someone that is paying for it. I know my quality isn't 100% and it takes me tWice. .. Three times as long to make lol. J[IMG ALT=""]http://cakecentral.com/content/type/61/id/3256176/width/350/height/700[/IMG] ust curious what kind of pricing would it be for this cake and 24 cupcakes ( I have no experience frosting cupcakes... haven't taken the time to learn which she was aware of). I also delivered 1/2 way 45 minutes one way... I felt bad she lived so far. ... so the little $ I did make went to gas lol. I knew this girl because several years ago I worked with her.

10 replies
simplyme4469 Posted 29 Jun 2014 , 9:06pm
post #2 of 11

AI did price it at $70... and i felt I was going to insult her how much I asked.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 30 Jun 2014 , 12:08am
post #3 of 11

in west tennessee at one of our local cupcake shops undecorated cupcakes would go for $3 each so that's over $70 as is -- are those fondant butterflies? gotta charge for those -- probably $1 each i guess-- then the cake is a 2-d and cute as a cute bug (ha! pun intended) can't tell how big it is -- if it's a 25-30 serving cake then $75- $90 would be a fairly respectable price in my neck of the woods --- if it's less servings it should still be at least $75 anyhow -- i hope that was baked in a butterfly pan because if you carved it as well-- kaching kaching--