Cake Fact Or Myth???

Decorating By BakersGuy Updated 26 Jun 2014 , 1:24pm by -K8memphis

BakersGuy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakersGuy Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:45pm
post #1 of 14

Hello All

I was just watching a video and heard something that made me reach for clarity from some of the most knowledgeable bakers I know!  Family I need help with this one.

Someone said to me  "Do not grease and/or flour side of cake pans," doing this will cause your cakes to NOT rise properly".

Now I am new at this and have soooo much to learn but has anyone ever heard this before?

Thanks!

Bakersguy

13 replies
maisie73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maisie73 Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:52pm
post #2 of 14

ANever heard of that before Bakersguy. I'm an amateur decorator but I've been baking for years. I never flour my tins, only grease and sometimes line with grease proof depending what I'm making. I do grease the sides, no problem with cakes rising. :-)

slun4ogledka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
slun4ogledka Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 4:58pm
post #3 of 14

I have heard it as well . Usually this method is used if you are baking sponge or  genoise cakes ( no leveling ingredients in the batter) . The idea is the batter to grab on the sides of the pan while in the oven. It helps the cake not to shrink after is baked and cooled down . HTH 

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 5:03pm
post #4 of 14

^ this.  Do not grease the sides of an angelfood type cake.  Otherwise, yes, grease the sides.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 5:39pm
post #5 of 14

i just line the bottom of the pan with parchment for tier cakes, no grease -- and beyond that i grease bundt pans, baking quick breads and pound cakes in loaf pans--

maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 25 Jun 2014 , 8:56pm
post #6 of 14